Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sketchup to 3D Max for rendering.

Hi,

I am a dedicated sketchUp modeler but recently I have become interested the rendering powers of 3Ds max, in particular 3D max's new sketchUp importer.

What I would like to know is if anyone knew any basic tutorials which would help me learn how to manage my models within 3D Max without learning the complexities of the whole program.

I currently render using vray within sketchUp but what I would like to do is import a complete model (textures and all) in to 3D MAX and then import some heavy geometry components such as trees (I have looked at evermotion models) ....then render the whole thing in vray for 3Ds max.
    Also what I would like to do is merge several sketchUp models into one big file.

If anyone could give any advice/insight into this import/render technique it would be much appreciated.

Well its not that simple...

However, there is a lot improvement with new autodesk productivity extension, but that is for max 2010... With this extension you are allowed to import native sketchup files into the Max. Problem can cause materilas nad surfaces, sometimes max recognize wrong side of plane and its just dark surface. This can be solved by applying two side max materials to model when you import it, or can edit geometry and flip sides. For this operation you need to know some basic stuff about max modeling.

Vray is a little bit different in max, vray materials also... Importing heavy geometry in max is not problem at all. Trees like evermotion is very easy to import and use if you export them as vray proxies, that way you can have bilions of poligons, and render it without any problems... If you do that without proxy you will have problems

I have done many renders of sketchup models in max so i'm very familiar with theme, if you need help just ask...

Regards!

Comment

the.doctor,